RSS Feed

Resourceful Dinner: Chicken Enchilada Stew

Posted on

I don’t know about anybody else, but I always have a variety of canned goods in my cabinet. I blame living through the 1994 Northridge earthquake. After that my mother never let us run low on canned goods again. So the canned goods are just habit I suppose.

Today’s post is about a quick meal I put together using only canned goods, olive oil, one potato and an onion. Yes. I’m serious.

Ingredients

What you need:

1 can of chicken broth

1 small can of jalapenos or whatever green chile you choose

1 large can of cooked chicken breast packed in water

1 can of beans (I used a mix called Santa Fe Recipe by S&W)

1 can tomato sauce

1 tablespoon of garlic

onion (I used red, but you can use yellow or leeks or shallots, whatever you happen to have on hand)

russet potato

I marinated the chicken in a mix of spices + olive oil:

1/4 c Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 t cumin

1/2 t cinnamon

1 T chili powder

1 t pepper

1/2 T red chile flakes (optional)

1/4 onion, chopped

Put all the ingredients in a ziploc bag, squish it around to mix everything together, and leave in it the fridge for a few hours. I put mine together in the morning before I left for work and used it as soon as I got home.

In a medium pot, combine:

1/4 onion, chopped

1 russet potato (washed and cut into 1 inch cubes)

chicken broth

green chiles, chopped (if using whole, remove the seeds)

beans

tomato sauce

1 T garlic

1 t cinnamon

2 t cumin

1 T chili powder

1 T red chile flakes (optional)

salt & pepper to taste

Toss the marinated chicken into the pot and bring to a boil for 10 min. Simmer for another 10 min or until your potatoes are cooked through.

ETA: I forgot a very important ingredient! Add a splash (no more than 1/4 t) of distilled vinegar. It sounds weird, but it’s worth it, I promise.

Done!

Serve with tortilla chips and cheese or cheesy cornbread. Yummy!

About kaitlin

I am a coffee addict, music lover, book devourer, and heat seeker, living, writing & cooking in beautiful, foggy San Francisco, CA.

Leave a Reply

