RSS Feed

Perfect Breakfast Sandwich

Posted on
Perfect Breakfast Sandwich

The only time I eat breakfast is on the weekends. I know that’s bad. Breakfast is allegedly the most important meal of the day. However, until I’ve had a cup of tea, food isn’t something I can think about. Literally. Because I can’t think at all. The idea of breakfast doesn’t occur to me until I’m at work, and by then it’s halfway to lunch anyway, so I just wait it out.

But on the weekend, I am all over breakfast. Maybe because I can call it brunch? I’m not sure. All I know is that I have this awesome waffle maker that makes waffles in the shapes of circus characters. Amazing, right? I use it all the time. Plus, you only get maple syrup at breakfast/brunch.

No, maple syrup and clown waffles are not involved in this post. Next time.

This weekend, I made the perfect breakfast sandwich: a fried egg topped with sautéed shallots, garlic and orange sweet peppers and served with spinach and herbed goat cheese, all on a cracked whole wheat bun. Yuuuuuuuuuuuummy.

Ingredients (Serves 4)

4 large eggs

1/2 T + 1/2 T olive oil

4 buns or 8 slices of bread, dealer’s choice

2 handfuls of baby spinach leaves

4 T goat cheese (or any cheese you like)

1 small shallot, finely chopped

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1/2 small orange sweet pepper, chopped

1 t salt

1 t black pepper

Directions

In a medium skillet, heat 1/2 T of olive oil. Sauté your shallot, garlic and pepper until the shallot is nearly translucent.

Sauteeing Vegetables

Remove the vegetables from the pan and set aside.

In the same pan, heat the remaining 1/2 T of olive oil and add the salt & pepper. Crack the eggs into the pan and let them cook until they have a solid white base underneath a layer of clear (raw) egg whites.

Frying the EggsAdd 1 T of water and cover. This will let the eggs steam, and they won’t have to cook in the pan as long, which burns the whites.

Water and CoverIgnore my sad broken yolk. 😦 It happens.

Tip: To avoid breaking your yolks before they hit the pan, crack all your eggs into ramekins or a small bowl and add them to the pan at the same time. Clearly, I forgot to do this.

Once there is no clear liquid (raw egg whites) left in the pan, your eggs are done! If you like your yolks solid, carefully flip your eggs at this point and cook for another minute on the other side. The outside of the yolk will be firm enough that it won’t break. But remember to be gentle.

In the meantime, to toast your buns, put it under the broiler for 3 minutes. Toasting them will help keep your sandwiches from falling apart. (Fortifying the structural integrity of your bread is a must when egg yolks are involved.)

Spread the goat cheese on the warm buns. Top with the spinach, then the egg, and finally your sautéed vegetables.

Finished Sandwich copyAnd a good morning to you.

About kaitlin

I am a coffee addict, music lover, book devourer, and heat seeker, living, writing & cooking in beautiful, foggy San Francisco, CA.

Leave a Reply

